People

Xinning Zhang (PI)

Position: Faculty
Title: Assistant Professor
Office:  152 Guyot Hall, Washington Rd., Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: (609) 258 - 2489
Email: xinningz@princeton.edu
Assistant: Eva Groves (egroves@princeton.edu)
CV
 
 
Xinning is an environmental microbiologist in the Department of Geosciences at Princeton University. She obtained her B.S. in Biological and Environmental Engineering from Cornell University in 2004 and Ph.D. in Environmental Science and Engineering from the California Institute of Technology in 2010. Her research interests encompass the coupling of biogeochemical cycles through microbial physiology, the impact of microbial metabolism on stable isotope records, co-evolution of microbial life and the geochemical environment, and microbial nutrient acquisition strategies. 

 

 

Shannon Haynes

 

Position: Lab manager / research specialist 
Office:  157 Guyot
Phone: 609-258-4674
Email: sjhaynes@princeton.edu
 
 
 
 

 

Romain Darnajoux

 

Position: LSRF Postdoctoral research fellow
Office:  158 Guyot
Phone: 609-258-1052
Email: romaind@princeton.edu
 
 
 
 

Katja Luxem

 
Position: Graduate student
Office:  158 Guyot Hall
Phone: (609) 258-2612
Email: kluxem@princeton.edu
Katja is a graduate student in the Geosciences department who is studying canonical and alternative nitrogenases in model N fixers and the environment. She received her B.S. from the California Insitute of Technology in 2014 and was a Fulbright scholar in 2015-2016.

 

Eunah Han

 

Position:  Graduate student
Office:  157 Guyot Hall
Phone: 609-258-4674
Email: eunahh@princeton.edu

 

 

Kelly Van Baalen

 

Position:  PEI summer  undergrad researcher
Email: kvanbaalen@princeton.edu

 

 

Kayla Dobies

 

Position:  PEI summer undergrad researcher
Email: kdobies@princeton.edu 

 

 

 

Previous group members 

 

 

Carol Chiu

Position: Undergraduate, CBE 2017
Email: cwchiu@princeton.edu
 
Carol graduated with a B.S. in Chemical and Biological Engineering in 2017. Carol's work aimed at understanding the diversity of canonical Mo and alternative nitrogenases in model microbial communities.
 
 
 

Allison Lee

 
Position: Undergraduate
Email: allisonlee@princeton.edu
Allison is an undergrad majoring in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. During 2016-2017, she studied the mechanisms underlying 15N fractionation in model N fixers, focusing on growth rate and Fe availability. She also doesn't mind accompanying Xinning for a day of field work in the mud!